The main menu provides a primary list of functions and settings that are available to the device user. To access the main menu, tap on the bottom left button with “3 stacked lines”. This button is available in both overhead and AR view, but not in calibration mode. To exit the main menu, either tap the “X” in the upper right-hand corner or swipe down (Fig 2.).
If the user belongs to multiple teams (or projects), they will be given the option to switch this setting from the main menu, by selecting the card with the company logo. They will not need to recalibrate and their session settings will be saved. For more information, see Company Team and Project Selection.
Selecting this button will enable the projections to be projected relative to the selected Digital Terrain Model. See How to Add a Digital Terrain Model in order to use this option.
This button is only available if you have a GNSS device connected to your viewing device. Selecting this button will calibrate the projections relative to your GNSS device’s accuracy.
3D and Surface Lines
This building-looking button takes on the name of the selected option. By default “3D and Surface Lines” are selected, but the user has several options to choose from in how the projections are displayed.
The setting options are:
- 3D and Surface Lines (default) will represent underground objects with a dashed surface line, and a 3D object at the appropriate depth.
- 3D underground objects will be shown at depth without surface lines.
- 3D Above-Ground will only show only objects located above ground in 3D.
- Surface Lines will represent underground objects with a solid surface line only. The object at depth will be shown only when the surface line is selected by the crosshair.
Enabling the transparency setting will add a transparency slider to the augmented reality screen. Moving the slider down will make 3D objects more transparent while moving the slider up will make 3D objects appear less transparent.
Like Transparency, this button is automatically enabled and allows the user to adjust the cross-section of objects in AR view, by adjusting the slider. This option can be disabled by deselecting the Cross-Section button.
This button takes on the name of the selected option. It allows the user to choose the way area projections appear.
There are several configurations and preferential settings that are key to operating the vGIS Utilities mobile application. For a detailed explanation of the Options, see Option Settings.
Selecting Data Collection will initiate the data collection process. This feature may not be needed by all user types, so company administrators must enable this feature for a device user. For more information, see Data Collection.
Selecting Recalibrate will open the calibration screen. All of your previous calibration settings will be reset. See Calibration.
Selecting Help will open the vGIS Utilities Mobile Application help file.